Really Nice Guys (2018)

  Photo Credit:   C.J. Harvey   (click to download)

Photo Credit: C.J. Harvey
(click to download)




Ron Gallo is set to release Really Nice Guys on January 19th, 2018 via New West Records. The 8-song set was produced by Joe Bisirri & Gallo and is a concept EP which pokes fun at himself and the year he spent supporting his New West Records debut, HEAVY META. Released in February of 2017, HEAVY META was met with critical acclaim with Billboard Magazine calling it “one of the year’s most searing and unfiltered alt-rock albums,” and Noisey stating that it “is Fun and Dark and Garage and Psychedelic and Nice as Hell.” NPR Music called Gallo an “insurgent poet and rock ‘n’ roll disrupter” while NYLON called him “A wordsmith of a writer who just so happens to have a knack for rock and roll.” Really Nice Guys also serves as hilarious commentary on the music industry. It features songs about rough mixes (broken into three parts: iPhone demo, live band demo, and overproduced, autotuned studio recording), the inability of saying a band is bad, so we say “they’re really nice guys” instead, all of your friends asking to be put on the guest list for your show, etc. It also features Gallo’s mother’s boyfriend Jerry’s amazing, real-time thoughts after hearing Really Nice Guys for the first time throughout the EP, captured by a hidden microphone. Consequence of Sound has premiered a stream of Really Nice Guys in full, along with a track by track from Ron Gallo. They state, “While the singer-songwriter continues to deliver poignant and snarky commentary through his blend of garage-y ’60s rock, Really Nice Guys redirects his cynical wit towards the very music industry of which he’s a part.” Listen HERE. Noisey previously premiered the video for the EP’s title track, which is based on an early 00’s skateboarding video, with Gallo performing super underwhelming tricks (watch it HERE). Really Nice Guys is available for pre-order HERE and will be available on compact disc and digitally (with a vinyl release slated later this year).

“Write what you know, Ron Gallo!” he says. “Being constantly on highways, in vans, on planes, on stages, in green rooms, on guest lists, turning a person into a brand, turning a real life human moment into a song, into content, into an asset to be monetized, talking to people about myself and stuff I wrote 3 years ago, watching it all unfold in the public eye from a phone in a van on a highway heading to a stage.” He continues, “It wasn’t what I thought it would be and it was beautiful and I am grateful, but mostly this whole world or pursuing music and the music business is hilarious. So how do you deal with that? Have fun by entertaining yourself with an EP of you laughing at yourself about all of it and call it Really Nice Guys, which is probably all I’ve been for most of this.”

Gallo’s HEAVY META garnered considerable year-end accolades including The Observer calling it one of the “Best Pop Albums of 2017,” American Songwriter including it in their “Top 25 Albums of 2017” list, John Mulvey of UNCUT naming it one of his “favourite albums of 2017,” and Glide Magazine including it in their “20 Best Albums of 2017” list, among others. Paste Magazine named him #3 in their “20 Best New Artists of 2017” list and also included his song “Temporary Slave” in their “50 Best Songs of 2017” list as well. Last year saw Gallo support Spoon, Hurray For The Riff Raff, The Black Angels, Thee Oh Sees, Twin Peaks, and co-headline with White Reaper between his own headlining tours. He also appeared at multiple music festivals including Lollapalooza, Governor’s Ball, Austin City Limits, Voodoo Music Fest and more. Gallo has announced his initial 2018 tour dates which include appearances during both weekends at the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival, Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival, Hangout Music Festival, Firefly Music Festival and more (please see dates below with many more to be announced).

Ron Gallo Really Nice Guys Track List:
1. Rough Mix
2. Really Nice Guys
3. Related Artists (For Fans Of…)
4. I’m On The Guestlist
5. YouTubular
6. The East Nashville Kroger Conversation
7. Emotional Impact For Sale
8. Pull Quote (feat. Jerry)


Press Release – Noisey Album Stream – PDF
Press Release – "Please Yourself" Video Premiere – PDF
Press Release – Album Announcement & "Young Lady, You're Scaring Me" Premiere – PDF

 Credit: Tom Bejgrowicz  Download 300 DPI JPG

Credit: Tom Bejgrowicz
Download 300 DPI JPG