wild moccasins


press photos

Photo credit: Arturo Olmos   Download 300 DPI JPG

Photo credit: Arturo Olmos

Download 300 DPI JPG

Photo credit: Arturo Olmos   Download 300 DPI JPG

Photo credit: Arturo Olmos

Download 300 DPI JPG




Wild Moccasins have announced their forthcoming third full-length, Look Together, due to release June 29 on New West Records. Fronted by Zahira Gutierrez (vocals/keyboard) and Cody Swann (guitar/vocals), Look Together serves as a new beginning for Wild Moccasins, with highly pop-powered production by GRAMMY Award-winner Ben H. Allen (Gnarls Barkley, Deerhunter, Animal Collective). The impassioned 12-song set tackles themes of repairing relationships, shedding insecurities, and fresh starts, with vibrant guitar and synth lines layered under Gutierrez’s soaring pop melodies. The FADER premiered the video for the album’s second single, “No Muse,” praising the record as “ridiculously catchy indie” and calling the track “intoxicating.” They continue, “The resulting video features beautiful and delicate solo scenes of Gutierrez that feel simultaneously vulnerable and empowering; as she sings she stares straight into the camera, commanding attention.” Of the track/video, Gutierrez offered, “'No Muse' is about feeling like men use women as muses in the wrong context. A lot of women have had the experience of being taken advantage of or had men in power try to take control of what they do, so this song encourages women to be their own muses. Because of what the song represents to me, I decided it was best for me to direct the video and sought out a female cinematographer (Rachel Bays) to shoot it in order to remove any sort of male gaze. I felt it was important to see the video through the eyes of a woman." The “No Muse” video can be shared at the link below, and Look Together is available for pre-order now via New West Records.

Watch/Share Wild Moccasins “No Muse” Video – https://youtu.be/w_V8Tu7erio

Look Together is a resilient and volatile break-up record co-written by Gutierrez and Swann after their decade-long romantic relationship dissolved. Healing proved to be a burdensome task for the former lovers, as Wild Moccasins were charted for two years of extensive touring. Gutierrez and Swann would spend countless hours positioned in a shared tour van, painfully staring each other down on stage and ultimately exchanging exaggerated he-said-she-said’s through songwriting. The pair recently discussed their emotional and intensely personal path to Look Together in an in-depth interview with Rookie Magazine, which included a premiere of the album’s combative opener, “Boyish Wave.” Refinery29 also named the track one of their favorite songs of the week, saying, "It's got that glam rock vibe that I'm a sucker for and makes me want to toss my hair around while doing my best Molly Ringwald kick dance."

For most romantically intertwined bands, Look Together would have never happened. Dissolving the group would seem to be the logical conclusion of their romantic split, but instead, the former couple chose to reconcile their differences the only way they knew how – working towards a common musical goal. Songwriting has been habitually engrained in the duo, and while being emotionally vulnerable with a former partner was difficult, it helped to construct the bridge between confusion and solidarity.

“I think we look back on that time and take some comfort in knowing that we went through that together,” says Swann. “It needed to happen in order for us to have this resolve.”

“Yeah, it needed to happen,” Gutierrez adds. “Now, when I sing the songs, I find myself breathing a sigh of relief.”

Gutierrez and Swann began their writing partnership roughly a year into their romantic relationship, in 2007. Their initial work was purely indie rock-driven, bolstered by dancey guitar riffs and tightly knit vocal harmonies, but the group has undergone numerous roster changes over the years and currently exists with the addition of Avery Davis (drums) and original member Nicholas Cody (bass). 88 92 saw the dynamic quartet add more new wave influences with shimmering synth underlays that Vice’s music site Noisey praised as “theatrical, funked up, and free-spirited.” For Look Together, producer Ben H. Allen inspired a different approach to the writing and recording process, and the result is a diverse album that blends the signature, guitar-driven elements of Wild Moccasins’ early discography with expansive electronic and '80s/'90s pop components. Already known for their captivating live shows, the band recently announced initial dates for their July headlining tour, which include a hometown album release show in Houston, TX at White Oak Music Hall on July 7. Please see below for full tour details with more dates to be announced.

Wild Moccasins Look Together Tracklist:
1. Boyish Wave
2. Temporary Vase
3. Longtime Listener
4. Missing You (the Most)
5. Doe-Eyed Dancer
6. Seven to One
7. Look Together
8. Desired Effect
9. No Muse
10. Shooting in the Dark
11. Conditional Lover
12. Waterless Cup

Tour Dates


Jake Lanier – Lucky Bird Media